Learning with Brother Lawrence

As I mentioned last post, I’m spending some time evaluating and listening this summer.  I’ve chosen to re-read Practicing His Presence for at least part of this time.

If you are not familiar with the book from it’s forward, “This book carries the testimony of two men’s unique relationship with God…walking in the awareness of the presence of Christ… just as Christ walked about on earth, constantly aware of His Father.”  The two men are Brother Lawrence and Frank Laubach.

The book is great as I remembered, but am certainly enjoying it anew, as God’s Spirit is working me over.  One quote to share:

“In defense of my opening my soul and laying it bare to the public gaze in this fashion, I may say that it seems to me that we really seldom do anybody much good excepting as we share the deepest experiences of our souls in this way.  It is not the fashion to tell your inmost thoughts, but there are may wrong fashions, and concealment of the best in us is wrong.  I disapprove of the usual practice of talking “small talk” whenever we meet, and holding a veil over our souls.  If we are so impoverished that we have nothing to reveal but small talk, then we need to struggle for more richness of soul.”

May God continue to teach me and give me the courage to share the deepest experiences of my soul.

This entry was posted in blog, faith, Jesus, prayer and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Learning with Brother Lawrence

  1. Sherri Jachelski says:

    Glad you’re blogging again! I keep telling myself I need to get back to it, but haven’t yet!

  2. Mitch Kemnitz says:

    Sounds great; I think I’d like to read Brother Lawrence along w/you. I have it on CDRom & will print it out. I’ve enjoyed, as well, Bernard of Clairvaux ON LOVING GOD.

Leave a Reply

