Thoughts and links

If you’re still following… and quite frankly, I don’t know why you would be with my long absence from this space… here are some updates on things and a few places that have been popping lately…

I am teaching a full load and taking PhD classes, so I’m constantly reading and writing for others, so apparently I have a word limit myself!  Speaking of word limits, I preached the other day at our church on brokenness and wholeness and kept it under 30 minutes (was supposed to be under 25 and those of you who know me, know the challenge that can be!).

Last night I took my Youth and Culture class to the mall for an observation field trip, teaching an ethnography of sorts, and we had a blast.  Teenagers are just a strange and funny species, but I love them so much and I’m pretty sure God does too!  We even got to see the token, “Hey-look-at-me-I’m-in-a-wheelchair-screwing-around” teenager, the teenage mother and father, the teens with parents with them buying them stuff and of course the teens who have been there ALL DAY and pretty much own the place.

In the emerging church world a few things to take note of…

– Brian McLaren’s new book is out – “A New Kind of Christianity” and there are reviews on Amazon to read.  I haven’t read it yet (see PhD studies), but am very interested in this one.  Here’s an interview with Brian about the new book.

– There’s some interesting theological discussion around the whole emerging and Emergent movement’s here.

– Donald Miller of Blue Like Jazz fame is involved in a really interesting new project here.

– If you haven’t had a chance to read or hear Peter Rollins yet, you should.

This entry was posted in books, church, culture, emerging church, faith, Jesus, Uncategorized, youth ministry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Thoughts and links

  1. Josh says:

    I’m still following you. But I didn’t get to check out any of these sweet links yet. You. Are. Awesome.

Leave a Reply

