Quitting on Coffee

You read that right.  I’m quitting coffee.  Actually this is the beginning of week 2 and  I’m doing pretty well with it. Some mild headaches and occasional shakes, but all in all, pretty good.

coffee!

coffee!

Some might remember that I tried this a few years back.  Quit cold turkey mid-winter.  That did not go well.  My family was ready to pack up my things and send me out into the cold.  The co-workers commented on my “grumpiness”.  [I guess throwing that Jr. Higher out of my car going 70 down I-95 wasn’t a good idea…]  This sounds so silly because it’s just not drinking a beverage every morning, but it was one of the hardest things I’ve done.  [BTW… just kidding about that – I was only going like 63.]

Why quit?  It’s part of my normal cylce of dependency.  This is the third time in my life I’ve completed the cycle.  Here are the steps.

1.  Drink 1 cup of joe occassionally as needed

2.  Drink 1 cup/day

3.  Drink 3 cups/day

4.  Drink 3 pots/day

I’ve worked up to number 4 and its time to reset the cycle.  Besides I’m eyeing an i-touch and am thinking the $25/month could go a long way to getting me there!

In all seriousness, it is also an attempt by me to recognize that I should not live my life dependent on anything other than God.  I’m trying to cleanse my life a bit.

Will I ever drink coffee again?  Probably?  Considering PhD work + teaching full load begins in the fall.

So what about it?  Anybody else show some discipline in their life lately and quit something old or start something new?  Do you think Jesus would be a coffee drinker?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Quitting on Coffee

  1. Jeremy says:

    I quit coffee back in September… good luck my friend!

    I love this post. We should constantly be looking for signs of dependency upon anything other than God. Following through on that is one of the hardest things.

Leave a Reply

