Baffled by the church?

I don’t know about you, but my relationship with “the church” has often been one of ups and downs.  Recently I had a conversation with a good friend about these frustrations and hopes only to follow that up the next morning with the following in my morning readings…


How baffling you are, oh Church, and yet how I love you!
You have made me suffer, and yet how much I owe you!
I should like to see you destroyed and yet I need your presence.
You have given me so much scandal and yet you have made me understand sanctity.
I have seen nothing in the world more devoted to obscurity, more compromised, more false, and I have touched nothing more pure, more generous, more beautiful.  How often I have wanted to shut the doors of my soul in your face, and how often I have prayed to die in the safety of your arms.
No, I cannot free myself from you, because I am you, although not completely.
And where should I go?

– From The God Who Comes – Carlo Carretto

This entry was posted in church, emerging church, faith, prayer. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

