Beauty in Chaos

Every morning for the last 2 1/2 years I have woken up with a song in my head.  This song (different each day) is almost always a praise or worship song of some kind.  If you know me you know that it is not because that is what I was listening to when I fell asleep.  Sure, I occasionally listen to some Crowder or something, but to be honest, not all that often. But there it is EVERY morning.  I have grown to interpret this as one of the assurances that someone is praying for me.  At first I resisted, but now I find it encouraging. 

The past two mornings a different song was in my head.  “Hey little girl with the red dress on…” is how it begins.  It’s a song I heard sitting in a stairwell at a rescue mission.  One of the residents there had a guitar and was playing a few songs for me.  This was not your average white guy with a guitar and a song.  This was beautiful and incredible and real.  Probaby the most powerful part of the songs were that I knew they came from real life, real pain, real joy, real Jesus. 

This was all part of some time I spent with my friend Jim Wicks in Portland.  The gentleman singing the song is part of Jim’s community, Adsideo.  This story is powerful and Adsideo is bubbling over with great people and great stories of how God has worked in people’s lives, amidst the brokeness and pain to bring wholeness and community.  I had a great time with the crew from Adsideo. 

One of the things I love the most about my time there was the way that Jim and friends were truly living IN the neighborhood and being a true part of the community.  They have coffee there, walk the streets there, play in the park there, make friends there and live in the way of Jesus there.  It was truly encouraging to my spirit to spend time with them. 

I first met Jim a couple years ago a District Leadership Conference.  I am always starting some emerging church conversations wherever I go and we stumbled upon each other there.  He has become a great friend and partner in the kingdom!

I wish I had some pictures to share with you, but my phone no longer has a camera… but that complaint is for another post.

This entry was posted in culture, emerging church, faith, Jesus, Nazarene, work and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Beauty in Chaos

  1. coldfire says:

    Worship really is powerful thing! I

  2. eekleman says:

    Hello!

    I am a doctoral student in Communication Studies at Kent State University. For my doctoral dissertation, I am studying bloggers. Would you be willing to participate in my survey?

    This online survey should only take about 15 minutes to complete, and it would mean the world to me. If you participate, you will be entered in a drawing to win one of 10, $20 Amazon.com gift cards.

    To participate in this study, you must be at least 18 years old, and you must currently maintain a blog that is primarily about your personal musings about your life, internal states, opinions, thoughts, or attitudes. Finally, you must write in your blog at least once a month.

    If you would like to participate, please visit the following website: http://www.surveymonkey.com/s.aspx?sm=g6sWwfib_2fwHO9mpgV5LhIQ_3d_3d

    Thanks so much for your help!

    Sincerely,
    Erin E. Kleman
    Doctoral Candidate
    School of Communication Studies
    Kent State University
    eekleman@kent.edu

  3. Jeremy says:

    your blackberry has no phone???

    😉

Leave a Reply

