4 Letters to Describe Yourself

I just completed the lovely Myers-Jung test.  Now it’s online and shorter (praise God!) than the ones I had to take when I was in seminary.  I remember it being an hour + but perhaps that is just my memory.  Anyway, I’m an INFP.  I’m sure there are some that have four other letters they’d prefer to use for me.

I=Introversion

N=Intuition

T=Thinking

P=Perception

The sight gives you an analysis of yourself and it calls me a “Healer” and says, “…and the mere fact that there are so few of you (around one percent of the population)…” I knew I was different.  But it describes me as…

“As a Healer, you have the capacity to care deeply about the inner lives of those close to you, as well as about favorite causes in the world at large. More than other types, you can have a great passion and ability to heal the conflicts that trouble individuals or divide groups. In your efforts, you seek to bring wholeness and health to others as well as to yourself.”

I’m pretty good with that.  Anybody else care to comment?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 4 Letters to Describe Yourself

  1. Kipper says:

    Actually called the Meyers-Briggs type indicator, but based on work by Jung. And you stated that you were INFP but then explained INTP, so I’m already confused about you (although my gut would go with the T vs. the F).

    I myself am an INTJ, another rare type, so I say to you, sir, welcome to the oddballs. I create conflict and you heal it, lol.

  2. Brian says:

    Funny stuff. I should have noted that I did NOT rate strongly in any one area. It was 6-4; 6-4; 6-4; 5-5. So depending on my mood I could probably be a totally different person the next time I took the test. I am sure, however, that no matter how many times I take this test or any other, I am still going to be an oddball.

  3. Jessica H says:

    They made us take that last year for YIM, and Sherri also had a link she shared with us when I was on Impact. As of those times, I was ISTJ, which is “me in a nutshell” according to one of my friends.
    Maybe I’ll take it again, and see if anything’s changed…

  4. Josh says:

    Brian,

    We share two letters…or two types…the N and the P. But those are my flex types. I’m quite the E and F. So I think out loud and collaborate.

    Aubs is INFJ but is always super close to the line on all of them.

    We complement each other quite well.

    How do you fare with your family or your fellow workers?

  5. Jeremy says:

    That sounds about right… I have to take my own Meyers-Briggs test next week for a masters class and I’ll let you know my results. Last time I took one I was an ENFP, but times change, and we do as well.

  6. James says:

    Brian… I got all caught up on your blog tonight. I had hibernated from blogging/blog reading for a few months. I would love to hear more about the meeting before the Postmodern Deal… with the church planter folks. Tevis told me some, but I would love to hear your take.

    Last time I took MB I was ENFJ, which means I practically complete you.

Leave a Reply

